WiKirby:Deletion policy

From WiKirby, your independent source of Kirby knowledge.
Jump to navigationJump to search

While WiKirby loves new content, there are times when articles or files are deemed worthy of removal from the wiki. There are a number of reasons why this may happen, which are outlined below. The following is WiKirby's deletion policy.

Page deletion by type

Articles

Generally, WiKirby prefers that articles are not deleted, but fixed up in some fashion. However, if nothing can be done to help the article, it should be deleted. An article may be suitable for deletion if it fits any of the following criteria:

  • it is a stub containing no truly unique information.
  • it is redundant, covering material that is already covered more adequately on a different article.
  • it covers something outside of WiKirby's purview; having no direct relation to the Kirby franchise. (see Non-Kirby content for details)

Files

Files are not as secure as articles, and may be deleted for a broader stretch of reasons. A file may be suitable for deletion if it fits any of the following criteria:

  • it is low-quality and has no suitable replacement.
  • it is an exact or inferior duplicate of another file.
  • it is a non-provided music track from Nintendo that has not been shortened to 30 seconds or less. (see audio standards for more detail)
  • it was taken from a non-Nintendo source without permission from the original owner. (see WiKirby:Copyrights)
  • it contains datamined and/or pirated content from a future-release game or other piece of media.

Redirects and disambiguation pages

While it is not often necessary to delete these pages, the following criteria mark them as suitable for deletion:

  • they are not useful search terms.
    • they are based on typos.
    • they are based on uncommon and unofficial phrases.
    • they are redirects containing qualifiers in parentheses.

Templates

Sometimes it is necessary to delete old templates that are no longer fit for purpose. A template may be suitable for deletion if:

  • it has little practical value.
  • it is redundant, performing a task that is done more elegantly by another template.

Talk pages

Talk pages may be deleted under the following criteria:

  • they are associated with a deleted page and are not suitable for archiving.
  • they are associated with a user who has been permanently blocked.

Tagging for deletion

When an editor deems a page necessary for deletion, he/she should place the {{delete}} template at the top of the page along with a piped explanation. From there, discussion should follow in the talk page, and all alternatives should be considered first. Regular users and patrollers do not have the authority to delete pages, and as such, it is up to the administrators to perform this task.

If a page is deleted, its corresponding talk page (if it has one) and any sub-pages should either also be deleted or archived, depending on how much useful information is contained therein.

Restoring a deleted page

When an editor is linked to a page that was previously deleted, he/she will be notified by the site in a box above the editing space. If this happens, the editor in question should consult with an administrator before re-creating the page. (preferably the administrator who deleted it in the first place)